When it rains, look for Rainbows…

‘When it rains, look for rainbows…
When it’s dark, look for the stars’

These beautiful and inspiring words were written in a card that I received from one of my best friends, to let me know she was thinking of me as she knew I had been struggling. I am so lucky to have such very special friends around me and for that I am truly thankful.

Sometimes it is hard to look ahead and see where it is we are going, especially with depression, when the view can get so clouded. The dark days seem to be never ending, no sign that there will ever be a break in the clouds or respite from the battering winds wearing us down – being blown in so many directions, unable to shelter from the assault, it is a daily battle. The confusion is draining and the bleakness oppressive.

However, even if the skies are filled with the darkest of rain clouds, it’s worth reminding ourselves that just because we can’t see the sun, it does not mean that it is not there. 

I don’t know about anyone else, but sometimes when the sun shines, even if it only peeks out from behind the clouds for a short while, I love to close my eyes and feel its warmth on my face. It gives me that moment of happiness and contentment. These are the little moments we need to hold on to; absorb the warming beams of sun light, let them filter through our skin and let it give some colour back, especially on our dark days. 

Even after the darkest and coldest of Winters, Spring, and then Summer, will surely follow. Ok, so we know that Winter will undoubtedly come back around, but the Seasons change; we just have to hope that the Winters are brief and become less harsh, and the better weather lasts longer. When the sunny days start to out number the stormy ones, then we must believe that we are walking a much clearer path. We might even be able to start to appreciate the beautiful flowers along the way that start to bloom, drawing inspiration as they lean towards the sun. 

Just like a Rainbow, beautiful things can come out of the darkest of storms; stars will always be shining bright even on the blackest of nights…..we just have to look for them – focus on the beautiful and the positive.

So keep looking out for those Rainbows and Stars! 

Mwah 
Natalie xxxx

Leave a comment